ShadowParty have announced a six-track live EP, set for release on 24 May 2019. The Town Hall Sessions features tracks from the band’s debut album, including live favourite ‘Celebrate’, and was recorded at Festival No. 6 with a string section conducted by Joe Duddell.

The EP was recorded at the Town Hall in Portmeirion, a surreal tourist village in Wales built in the 1920s. Portmeirion, as well as being the location for Festival No. 6, was famously used as the location for 1960s science-fiction television series, The Prisoner, and artwork for the EP acknowledges this with a depiction of a penny-farthing bicycle, the logo for the “Village” in the programme.

ShadowParty’s new EP coincides with several UK dates. The band’s Scottish debut will be at The Classic Grand in Glasgow on 23 May and on the 24 May they will join labelmates A Certain Ratio for their 40th anniversary Manchester celebrations at a very special takeover of Yes.

ShadowParty are a band united by a fairly unusual circumstance, each member is a latter-day addition to a huge band. The nucleus of the group formed when Josh Hager and Tom Chapman met in Boston, Massachusetts. Josh is a former member of The Rentals and currently plays guitar and keyboards in Devo. Tom Chapman is the former bass player of Bad Lieutenant who followed frontman Bernard Sumner to New Order in 2011 when the band reunited for a series of charity gigs. Completing the group are Phil Cunningham, Marion founder member and New Order’s guitarist since 2001, and drummer Jeff Friedl, who plays for Devo.

ShadowParty’s debut - recorded in Boston, LA, Manchester and, of course, Macclesfield - is an album that nods to those groups but exists in its own right entirely, an indie electro album with guitars and strings, and guests including the incomparable vocalist Denise Johnson (Primal Scream, A Certain Ratio) and The Verve’s revered guitarist Nick McCabe.

It's the sound of a blast. ShadowParty burst through your speakers; pulsing electronics get swept away with lush orchestrations, bold beats carved up by haunting guitars and vocals tower through each moment, whispering sweet harmonies and unspoken despair.